Skip to content

Multilateral organisations performance assessment network - MOPAN

The Multilateral Organisation Performance Assessment Network (MOPAN) is a network of 22 donor countries with a common interest in assessing the general performance, results, and organisational effectiveness of major multilateral organisations. Multilateral organisations deliver a significant and increasing share of official development assistance. The members of MOPAN have joined forces to assess to what extent these organisations have the practices, systems, and behaviours in place to achieve effective and sustainable development results. 

Working with assessments of multilateral organisations, the main role of MOPAN is:

  • Carry out joint assessments
  • Build a joint knowledge and analytic base
  • Draw on each other’s experience in monitoring and fostering learning

Members are committed to a joint approach to assessment (MOPAN 3.0), which focuses on five strategic dimensions of organisational effectiveness: 1) strategic management; 2) operational management; 3) relationship management; 4) performance management; and 5) results. 

The MOPAN assessments are mainly focusing on the major multilateral organisations such as UN funds and programmes (UNAIDS, UNDP, UNEP, UNFPA, UNICEF, UN WOMEN), specialised UN organisations (FAO, ILO, OHCHR, UNESCO, WHO, UNOPS), humanitarian UN organisations (IOM, UNHCR, UNOCHA, UNRWA, WFP), development banks and international finance Institutions (AfDB, AIIB, AsDB, EBRD, IADB, IFAD, IFC, IMF, WB), and global funds (CGIAR, GAVI, GCF, GEF, GPE, Global Fund).

The reports from MOPAN assessments, which are expected to be published during 2024, cover Asian Development Bank (AsDB), The European Bank for Reconstruction and Development (EBRD), Food and Agriculture Organisation (FAO), Gavi, the Vaccine Alliance, Global Environmental Facility (GEF), Global Partnership for Education (GPE), International Monetary Fund (IMF), United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organisation (UNESCO), United Nations Population Fund (UNFPA), United Nations Human Settlements Programme (UN-Habitat), United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees (UNHCR), United Nations Relief and Works Agency for Refugees in the Near Easter (UNRWA), UN Women, World Food Programme (WFP), World Health Organisation (WHO) and World Trade Organisation (WTO).

In addition, MOPAN assessments of the International Committee of the Red Cross (ICRC), The Office of the United Nations High Commissioner for Human Rights (OHCHR) and Green Climate Fund (GEF) are expected to be initiated at the end of 2024.

MOPAN assessments are carried out at the level of Headquarters and to a lesser extent at country level. MOPAN uses both perception based and factual data, which are gathered through surveys, reviews, and interviews.

The role of being an institutional leader for a MOPAN assessment is divided among the MOPAN member countries, but there will always be two member countries together as institutional leads for an assessment. Denmark will be one of the two institutional leads of the assessments of ICRC, OHCHR and GEF.

The 22 MOPAN members are:

Australia, Belgium, Canada, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Republic of Korea, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Luxembourg, The Netherlands, Norway, Qatar, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, United Kingdom, and United States of America with New Zealand and Türkiye as observers.

Further information about MOPAN can be found here.

MOPAN's assessment reports can be found here.


For further information and enquiries, please contact Department for Evaluation, Learning and Quality (LEARNING) [email protected]


Ministry of Foreign Affairs

2 Asiatisk Plads
DK-1448 Copenhagen K
Tel. +45 33 92 00 00
[email protected]